Thursday, March 1, 2018

Citizens can soon renew license plates at 18 kiosks in 12 Colorado counties

Self-service technology expands on March 5 to allow cross-county transactions

Beginning March 5, citizens in 12 Colorado counties will have the option to renew their vehicle registration at any of 18 self-service kiosks located in participating counties.

“Mesa County is excited to partner with 11 other counties to accept cross-county transactions on our Colorado MVExpress kiosk,” said Clerk and Recorder Sheila Reiner. “Now students, visitors or workers who are in Mesa County but call one of the other 11 counties home, can use our kiosk to renew.”

The kiosks are available only to residents of Arapahoe, Adams, Boulder, Broomfield, Douglas, El Paso, Freemont, Jefferson, La Plata, Larimer, Mesa and Weld counties. However, more counties may authorize kiosk transactions for residents later this year. Find your nearest kiosk at

Mesa County was the second Colorado county to launch a Colorado MVExpress kiosk last year. This technology has made a difference by helping to reduce wait times and free up staff to assist with complex title and registration transactions.

“Citizens have renewed more than 5,500 vehicles using Mesa County's kiosk; our average wait time in the Motor Vehicle has decreased from 40 minutes in February 2017 to 27 minutes in February 2018,” Reiner added.

The kiosks are blue and yellow machines that look similar to an ATM. To use one, simply type your license plate number on the touchscreen, or scan the barcode on your renewal postcard; then pay taxes and fees by check, credit or debit card. The kiosk will instantly print your receipt, vehicle registration, and license plate tabs. Mesa County customers will pay a $3 convenience fee for every vehicle renewed at a kiosk, which directly pays for the technology. There is no budget impact or cost to other taxpayers for this convenience.

If you have recently changed or updated your auto insurance, please wait two to four business days before using a kiosk to renew. If your grace period for your renewal has ended, you will not be able to renew at a machine and must call or appear in person at your county motor vehicle office.

Residents of the following counties can use a renewal kiosk in any of these locations:

Adams County
Westminster Motor Vehicle Office, 8452 Federal Blvd., Westminster

Arapahoe County
Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder Aurora Branch, 490 S. Chambers Rd., Aurora
Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder Centennial Branch, 6954 S. Lima St., Centennial
AAA Southglenn Office, 7400 S. University Blvd., Centennial
Arapahoe County Administration Building, 5334 S. Prince St., Littleton

Boulder County
Boulder County Clerk and Recorder's Office, 1750 33rd St., Boulder

Broomfield County
Paul Derda Recreation Center, 13201 Lowell Blvd., Broomfield

Douglas County
Douglas County Wilcox Building, 301 Wilcox St., Castle Rock
Park Meadows Center, 9350 Heritage Hills Circle, Lone Tree

El Paso County
Centennial Hall, 200 S. Cascade Ave., Colorado Springs
Citizens Service Center, 1675 W. Garden of the Gods, Colorado Springs
Powers Office, 5650 Industrial Pl., Colorado Springs
Union Town Center, 8830 N. Union Blvd., Colorado Springs

Freemont County
Fremont County Administration Building, 615 Macon Ave. Room 102, Canon City

Jefferson County
Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office, 2099 Wadsworth Blvd. Ste. K., Lakewood

La Plata County
Durango Motor Vehicle Office, 98 Everett St., Ste. A, Durango
Pine River Library, 395 Bayfield Center Dr., Bayfield

Larimer County
Larimer County Courthouse, 200 W. Oak St., Fort Collins

Mesa County
Mesa County Motor Vehicle Office, 200 S. Spruce St., Grand Junction

Weld County
Greeley Motor Vehicle Office, 1402 N. 17th Ave., Greeley

As another option, Coloradans can renew their license plates by mail, drop off or online at For more information about motor vehicle services in Mesa County, please call 970-244-1664 or visit

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.